



# **FACULTY SENATE MINUTES**

MEMBERS - Alphabetically

David Aguilar-Alvarez Brett Alexander - Absent

Aaron Ashley

Jason Barrett-Fox

**Dustin Birch** 

Rebecka Brasso

R.C. Callahan

Tracy Callahan

Nicola Corbin

Kade Crittenden

**Kenton Cummins** 

**Bruce Davis** 

Mark Denniston

C. Ryan Dunn

Andrea Easter-Pilcher

Chris Eisenbarth

David Ferro

Wendy Fox-Kirk

Deana Froerer

Doris Geide-Stevenson

Cydnee Green

Kristin Hadley

Ed Hahn

Sue Harley

Tim Herzog

Wendy Holliday

Brent Horn

Dianna Huxhold

Adam Johnston

Madonne Miner - Excused

Brad Mortensen - Excused

Cory Moss

Matt Mouritsen

Cora Neal

Casey Neville - Rieneke Holman sub.

Blake Nielson

Tanya Nolan

Marjukka Ollilainen

Kacy Peckenpaugh

Brett Perozzi

Travis Price

David Read - Shane Schvaneveldt sub. F'19 - Absent

Rob Reynolds

Julie Rich - Absent

Bill Robertson - Christine O'Neil sub.

Ann Rocha

Sheryl Rushton

Yas Simonian

Scott Sprenger

Norm Tarbox

Chris Trampel

John Trimble – Aubrey Jones – sub.

Hugo Valle

Barb Wachocki

Glen West

Joshua Winegar

Catherine Zublin

-----

Administrative Associate: Patti Glover

Guests: Craig Oberg & Yimin Wang

- 1. ROLL CALL
- 2. Approval of minutes from April 11, 2019 meeting. Approved as corrected.

### **Information Items**

- 3. Administrative Update Norm Tarbox, Administrative Services Vice President In the past WSU has delegated full administration of retirement funds to TIAA; now they are one vendor in a field of vendors. WSU's new consultant is Cammack. A WSU retirement committee has been established. The current funds have been recommended by TIAA, Cammack has recommended that the investment lineup be revamped and include a maximum of 24 options, this would reduce duplication in investment sectors. Formal, comprehensive communication will come to employees from TIAA, hopefully in October. Opportunity will be given for employees to redistribute their funds, if they do not choose to do their own redistribution then mid-November the funds will be rolled from the old model into the new model.
- 4. <u>Faculty Athletics Update</u> Craig Oberg, Athletics Faculty Representative The new Athletic Director, Tim Crompton, was introduced; Ryan McGinn remains the Academic Athletic director. All teams maintain above the required 930 multiyear APR score which means no NCAA penalties. NCAA revenue sharing will start this coming year. The money will go back to institutions based on academic achievement. If athletic students graduate at 13% greater rate than the institution's rate the college receives the money, and WSU will receive this money this year.
- 5. Internationalization Strategic Planning Process Yimin Wang, WSU Senior International Officer Last year the Internationalization Task Force gave suggestions on internationalization for WSU. Two really good suggestions were made, one is to form an Internationalization Advisory Board and the other is to have an Internationalization Strategic Plan. An overview of the four phases of the WSU Internationalization Strategic Plan was given. Currently colleges need to share their stories regarding internationalization within their college. (video, audio, paper) This will be done via a Canvas platform. There is not a tightly structured format for this so that colleges can record these in any manner that works for them. This story sharing will create a unique WSU international narrative. Then a strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats (SWOT) analysis will be done. In phase three a strategic planning committee/advisory board will be established. They will work on making an internationalization mission, vision and strategic plan. Once these are finalized and approved by the President's Council, the committee will develop an implementation/action plan as well as an assessment plan.

#### **Action Items**

6. Faculty Senate Committee Charges

MOTION: To approve charges as circulated made by Brent Horn

SECOND: Adam Johnston

**OUTCOME:** Unanimous approval

## 7. Committee Updates

- a. ASSA Sheila Anderson, ED; Brady Brower, SBS; Afshin Ghoreishi, S
- b. APAFT Emily January Petersen, A&H: Alex Lawrence, EAST
- c. EIC Carrie Jeffrey, HP & Saori Hanaki, ED
- d. SBBFP Loisanne Kattelman, B&E
- e. UCC David Yoder, SBS

MOTION: To approve all committee nominees by Catherine Zublin

SECOND David Aguilar-Alvarez OUTCOME: Unanimous approval

## 8. Faculty Board of Review Updates

- a. Peggy Saunders (alternate) will take the two-year position formerly held by Brian Rague who is now associate dean and considered administration, not faculty.
- b. Election for Alternate FBR member Wade Kotter received the most votes and will be an alternate for the 19-20 year.
- 9. FBR Chair Nomination Adam Johnston, chair; Rob Reynolds, alternate chair

MOTION: To approve FBR chair and alternate chair by Aaron Ashley

SECOND: Catherine Zublin

**OUTCOME:** Unanimous approval

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 pm

Next Meeting: Faculty Senate, October 10, 2019 at 3:00 pm in WB 206/207