WSU Storytelling Karen J. Ashton Award

Monica Flint is honored to receive the WSU Karen J. Ashton Storytelling award for her efforts in promoting storytelling in multiple schools over the years. She loves watching young children develop their storytelling skills and find their own confidence in this unique art form. As the Storytelling Coordinator for Davis School District, Monica has been the primary person to develop storytelling in Davis schools over the past 16 years. She served on the WSU Storytelling Steering Committee from 2005 – 2021. A strong advocate for literacy in life, Monica has focused her career on incorporating literature into all academic areas.

Monica began teaching first grade in San Bernardino, CA right after she graduated from Utah State University in 1998 with a dual major in Early Childhood and Elementary Education. Soon after, she returned home to Davis County where she taught 4th grade at Adams Elementary until 2004. While finishing a Master of Education degree with a Reading Endorsement at USU, Monica was hired as a reading specialist. Over the years, her teaching career expanded to instruct educators in various content areas. In 2012 she became the Elementary Social Studies Supervisor and Library Supervisor for Davis School District in the Teaching and Learning Department.

Throughout her various positions in Davis, Monica continued to coordinate the storytelling festivals for the district. She loves to discuss a meaningful book with others or practice her storytelling skills with children. Monica also has a Library Endorsement and completed a Master of Science for an Educational Leadership certificate from Western Governors University in 2021. Currently she is an Elementary Administrative Intern at two schools for Davis School District.

Traveling the world has provided great experiences in which Monica loves to utilize in her teaching. Her greatest adventures include BYU study abroad in Jerusalem, sailing across the Atlantic Ocean on a tall ship for six weeks, and humanitarian work in Zambia. If you have some time, she’ll tell you about becoming a pirate, collecting shards from ancient tels, or white water rafting in Africa. She married her supportive husband, Eric Flint, in 2018. They love road trips and visiting National Parks. Monica has also loved spoiling her 31 nieces and nephews over the years.


Previous Winners

1996 Phyllis Dixon Shaw
1997 Anneliese Konkol
1998 Steven R. Mecham
1999 Bill Higley
2000 Dean W. Hurst
2001 William J. Critchlow III
2002 Milan E. Mecham
2003 Lynne Greenwood
2004 Lynne Goodwin
2005 Karen B. Lofgreen
2006 W. Byran Bowles
2007 Margaret I. Rostkowski
2008 Virginia Rassmussen

2009 Jean Andra Miller
2010 Bob Wood
2011 Phyllis Savage
2012 F. Ann Millner
2013 Norman L. Skanchy
2014 Ann L. Ellis
2015 Kathy Gambles
2016 Beverly G. Heslop and Linda H. DeYoung
2017 Rosemary Conover and Rachel Hedman
2019 Jack L. Rasmussen
2020 Judith P. Mitchell
2021 Claudia Fuhriman Eliason