Founding Board

The WSU Charter Academy Founding Board members have significant relevant experience that will contribute to WSU Charter Academy’s success!

The Founding Board for the Weber State University Charter Academy includes faculty members in the Jerry and Vickie Moyes College of Education from the departments of Child and Family Studies and Teacher Education. Many of these people currently hold a Professional Educator License in the state of Utah as teachers or administrators. Additionally, the board members have expertise in at least one of the following areas: early childhood education, child development, elementary education, special education, English as a second language, family studies, multicultural education, school administration, parental involvement, and budgeting. 

Founding Board Members

Jack L. Rasmussen, PhD
Dean and Professor
Chloe D. Merrill, PhD
Associate Dean
Professor: Child and Family Studies
Director, Packer Center for Family and Community Education
Carol VandenAkker, MS
Administrative Assistant
Business Administrator, WSU Charter Academy
Camie Bearden, MEd
Principal, WSU Charter Academy
Assistant Director, Packer Center for Family and Community Education
Fran Butler, PhD
Professor: Special Education Methods, Learning Strategies & Content Enhancement, Mathematics Education
Claudia Eliason, PhD
Professor:  Reading 
Carole Haun, MS
Past Director Melba S. Lehner Children's School, Early Childhood Development
Jared Lisonbee, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Childhood
Jack Mayhew, PhD
Associate Professor: Special Education
Carrie Ota, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Care and Education, Early Childhood    Education, and Child Development
Wei Qiu, PhD
Assistant Professor: Early Childhood Development
Peggy Saunders, PhD 
MEd Program Director 
Associate Professor: Instructional Strategies and Classroom Management
Paul Schvaneveldt, PhD
Department Chair of Child and Family Studies
Professor: Family Studies, Family Literacy, Marriage Education, Latino Families
Sherrie West, MAEd
Assistant Director Melba S. Lehner Children's School
Ray Wong, PhD
Professor Emeriti:  Diversity