Meet The Peer Mentoring Staff

 

Peer Mentor Leads

My name is Melanie Melgar. I was born in Bellflower, California but moved to Roy, Utah when I was little. I’m currently a junior majoring in English Teaching. I want to teach in a middle school or high school. My hobbies include hiking, watching horror movies, and writing poetry. I was a member of the Peer Mentor Program since my freshman year, starting as a mentee then becoming a mentor. Now I’m Peer Lead! My advice to all students is to always challenge yourself to learn and grow from your experiences.

Contact Melanie at melaniemelgar@weber.edu

Ya'at'eeh! Hello! My name is Bessie Pettigrew. I am from the Navajo Nation, born and raised in Layton, UT. I am a graduate student pursuing a masters in education with an emphasis in higher education leadership. I got my undergraduate degree at Weber in 2020 in criminal justice. My hobbies include watching netflix, playing video games, getting boba/Korean bbq with my friends, cooking/baking or hanging out with my family. I had a mentor my first year, became a Peer Mentor and now I am a Peer Mentor Lead.

Contact Bessie at bessiepettigrew@weber.edu

My name is Jazmin Rodriguez and I was born and raised here in Ogden, Utah. I am studying political sciences hoping that I can open a non-profit for the underrepresented community one day. I love hanging out with friends and meeting new people. Words of advice are if you truly are passionate about your dream never stop chasing them. The opportunities will come with the hard work and dedication you put into your dreams. This year, I am serving as the Elementoring Lead working with elementary students.

 

Contact Jazmin at jazminrodriguez@weber.edu

Peer Mentors

My name is Liz, and I was born in Maracaibo, Venezuela. I am currently a senior at Weber majoring in Criminal Justice with an emphasis in Crime Scene Investigation. Some of my hobbies include reading fiction novels, playing video games, archery, and learning new languages! I hope to work for an agency as a crime scene investigator since I believe proper and transparent evidence handling techniques are key to ensure a fair judicial process for all. I am very excited to get to know everyone!

Contact Liz at lizhomezgonzalez@weber.edu

 

My name is Camila Page. I was raised in Brigham City, Utah, but was born in Ecuador. I was adopted when I was six and have lived in Utah since then. I am a dual major in Psychology and Exercise & Sports Science with a concentration in Fitness Professional as well as a minor in Spanish. I am a junior at Weber State. My hobbies are reading, art of any kind, DIYs, horse riding, soccer, listening to music, lifting weights (free weight). This is my first year as a Peer Mentor but I was in the program my freshman year as a mentee. My word of advice is to take it step by step and enjoy it - time goes by fast!

Contact Camila at camilapage@weber.edu

 

My name is Adriana Munoz. I was born in Bogota, Colombia. I am currently a sophomore at Weber State pursuing a bachelor's in Criminal Justice. My career goals are to become a Citizenship Officer and someday have the opportunity to work for the U.S. Embassy. My hobbies include hiking, running, and exploring the outdoors with my dog. I am excited to be a part of the Peer Mentor Program and help students succeed through engaging in resources, support, and a WSU community.

Contact Adriana at adrianamunoz@weber.edu

Hello all! My name is Ben Scott. I'm from the hot city of St. George, UT and have now ended up here in Ogden after fifteen moves. I love reading, sports (mainly Ultimate Frisbee and pickleball), playing Super Smash Bros with my bros, board/card games, and the usual hanging out with my family. I'm a senior getting my two degrees in Spanish and Social Work. After graduating, I want to become a Seminary teacher or a school counselor for middle school/high school. Some words of advice for all from Angela the Herbalist, "Avoid roasted cabbage, do not eat earwax, and look on the bright side of life."

Contact Ben at benjaminscott@weber.edu

My name is Maria Flores. I was born in Norristown, PA and raised in Ogden, Utah. My current major is Social Work and I'm a sophomore. My hobbies include painting, drawing, and taking nature walks. I wish to grow as a student by being a Peer Mentor. My career goals include finding out what I want to do and be good at it. Words of Advice: Give everything a try, or you will never know if you'll be good at it.

Contact Maria at mariaflores2@weber.edu

Hi! My name is Chanell Sosa and this is my second year at Weber State! I was born and raised right here in Ogden, UT. The major I'm going for is a Bachelors in either Science or Communications. I'm the first in my family to attend college, I love to be outdoors, and I like to meet new people. I especially love to swim and play basketball. I was part of the Peer Mentor Program last year as a mentee and let me tell you - I loved it! It was nice to have someone I could go to and get help if I needed it and to have someone to help guide me. Mostly after what we all went through last year it was nice to have this program make me feel included. My main goal for myself is to graduate from college and to have a job that I love. Some words of advice: try to get involved on campus. It helps give a sense of belonging and it also has a lot of different opportunities. The last piece of advice I can give is to take any classes that you are interested in when doing your generals. This is a good way to find things that you like and don't. Who knows you might like something that you thought you wouldn't.

Contact Chanell at chanellsosa@weber.edu

My name is Victor Contreras and I was born in Ogden. I want to major in nursing and this will be my 4th semester at Weber State. I like to play soccer, football and basketball. I will be a Peer Mentor this year. I want to become a nurse practitioner one day, and the best advice I ever received was to not quit but rest a little bit and try even harder.

Contact Victor at victorcontreras@weber.edu

My name is Litzy and I was born and raised in Ogden. I am currently a zoology major and this is my second year studying at Weber State University. I play the saxophone and I love doodling in my free time. In the future, I hope to become a veterinarian. As part of the Peer Mentor Program, I hope to create a lot of memories with my peers and my only word of advice is to enjoy life to the fullest.

Contact Litzy at litzylopez@weber.edu

My name is Angelo Pena. I was born in Salt Lake City, and raised in Park City. I can speak Spanish and English. I love playing soccer and I have done it for 8 years. I played with the varsity soccer team and for a club that was 8th in the state. I enjoy helping my community. I helped train kids for soccer and I was an ambassador for the Park City soccer club. It inspires me to help minoritized groups. I help Hispanic families by translating for them. It has been an honor to help the Park City club raise money to help people get the chance to play soccer. I was able to make it equitable for the kids to get an opportunity to play the sport they are passionate about without having to worry about the soccer fees. I'm currently majoring in Athletic therapy and am a second-year student. My motto has always been to give 100% at everything I do. There are days that I might feel lazy, but I tell myself that the things I do come with positive results, which is why I get even more motivated to do even better.

Contact Angelo at angelopena@weber.edu

 

 

Olga G. Antonio

Mentor Coordinator

Student Services 174
801-626-7332
olgaantonio@weber.edu
 

Andrea Salcedo

Mentor Advisor

Student Services 173
801-626-7342
andreasalcedo@weber.edu
 

 

Dr. Linda Oda

Consultant

Depiction by artist
Ted Nagata

lkoda@weber.edu