student affairs

Student Affairs Division History


Sensing a need for an intense study of the many components of student services and the need to integrate the efforts of the various units, a long range planning committee was established early in the spring of 1977. The long range plan recommended bringing all existing student services units together under a Vice President. The concept of a Division of Student Affairs was first approved by President Rodney Brady. He left the school during the search process for a Vice President in Spring of 1985, and the concept was put on hold.


In May of 1986 President Stephen Nadauld reopened the search with the following units included: School Services, Admissions, Financial Aid, Scholarships, Registration, Records, Graduation, Orientation and Academic Advisement, Career Planning and Placement, Counseling, Special Student Services, Health Center, Food Service, Housing and Residential Halls, Student Facility Operation, Student Activities, Union Building.

Units such as the bookstore, Services for Women Students, Services for International Students, Services for Multicultural Students, Art Services, Games Area, Wilderness Recreation, Mail Service, Student Governance, Services for Physically Challenged, Learning centers, Student Support Services, and Greek Organizations were all subsets of the above mentioned.

Current Vice President

BrettBrett Perozzi, Ph.D.

Dr. Perozzi is an active leader with the most comprehensive student affairs professional association in the world, NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education, helping coordinate and shape their global agenda, by establishing a Global Advisory Board, culturally relevant educational programs abroad, and advancing intercultural understanding among those doing student affairs work globally. Brett is a founding member of the International Association of Student Affairs and Services, and approaches his work from a student centered perspective.

Contact Brett   Press Release: Perozzi Named VP  


Student Affairs Past Vice Presidents

  • Dr. Janet C. Winniford: 2006 - 2017
  • Toni Weight: 2004 - 2006
  • Anand K. Dyal-Chand: 1998 - 2004
  • Marie Kotter: 1986 - 1998