skip to content
  • Calendar
  • Maps

Faculty and Staff

Toni Asay

Instructor of English

Ph.D., Utah State University
Teacher Education and Leadership

Elizabeth Hall 261
801-626-8556
tasay@weber.edu

More information

Jason Barrett-Fox

Associate Professor of English
Director of Composition

Ph.D., University of Kansas
Rhetoric and Writing Studies
Women, Gender and Sexuality

Elizabeth Hall 426
801-626-6801
jbarrettfox@weber.edu

More information

Russell Burrows

Professor of English

Ph.D., Bowling Green University
American Literature
Western American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 458
801-626-7817
rburrows@weber.edu

More information

Christy Call

Associate Professor of English
Director of English Education

Ph.D., University of Utah
American Literature
Environmental Humanities

Elizabeth Hall 266
801-626-7824
ccall2@weber.edu

More information

Courtney Craggett

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D., University of North Texas
Creative Writing
Mexican-American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 252
801-626-8912
courtneycraggett@weber.edu

More information

Hal Crimmel

Brady Professor of English

Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY
American Literature
Environmental Literature

Departmental Chair
Elizabeth Hall 435A
801-626-8044
hcrimmel@weber.edu

More information

Rebekah Cumpsty

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D., University of York
English and Related Literature

Elizabeth Hall 464
801-626-7318
rebekahcumpsty@weber.edu

More information

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ryan Evans

Elizabeth Hall
ryanevans2@weber.edu

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Megan Gadd

Elizabeth Hall
megangadd1@weber.edu

 

 

Becky Jo Gesteland

Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Utah
American Studies
Western American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 449
801-626-7083
bgesteland@weber.edu

More information

Siân Griffiths

Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Georgia
Creative Writing
American Literature

Elizabeth Hall 429
801-626-6254
siangriffiths@weber.edu

More information

Jan Hamer

Instructor of English

J.D., University of Kansas

Elizabeth Hall 236
801-626-6594
jhamer@weber.edu

More information

David Hartwig

Assistant Professor
Graduate Director

Ph.D., University of Warwick
English and Comparative Literary Studies

Elizabeth Hall 257
801-626-7461
davidhartwig@weber.edu

More information

Kyra Hudson

Instructor of English

M.A., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
English

Elizabeth Hall 452
801-626-6253
khudson@weber.edu

More information

Head Shot of Clint Johnson

Clint Johnson

Instructor of English

M.F.A., National University
Fiction

WW/Roy #112
801-689-4005
clintjohnson1@weber.edu

More information

Brooke Kelly

Instructor of English
Director of
Developmental English

M.A., Utah State University
Theory and Practice of Writing

Elizabeth Hall 262
801-626-6595
bkelly@weber.edu

More information

Mark LeTourneau

Professor of English

Ph.D., Purdue University
Linguistics

Elizabeth Hall 243
801-626-6386
mletourneau@weber.edu

More information

Susan McKay

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Utah
Linguistics

Elizabeth Hall 258
801-626-7506
smckay@weber.edu

More information

Becky Marchant

Instructor of English

M.A., St. Cloud State University
Rhetoric and Professional Writing

Elizabeth Hall 267
801-626-7493
beckymarchant@weber.edu

More information

Karen Moloney

Professor of English

Ph.D., UCLA
British Literature
Irish Literature

Elizabeth Hall 445
801-626-6250
kmoloney@weber.edu

More information

Sylvia Newman

Instructor of English

M.A., Utah State University
Theory and Practice in Writing

Elizabeth Hall 446
801-626-6257
snewman@weber.edu

More information

José Otero

Instructor of English
Assistant Composition Director

M.A., Gannon University
English

Elizabeth Hall 226
801-626-8977
joseotero@weber.edu

More information

Julia Panko

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., UC Santa Barbara
Literature and Media
British and Irish Literature

Elizabeth Hall 463
801-626-6596
jpanko@weber.edu

More information

Emily January Petersen

Assistant Professor
Director of Professional & Technical Writing

Ph.D., Utah State University
Professional Communication
Women and Gender Studies

Elizabeth Hall 459
801-626-6695
emilypetersen2@weber.edu

More information

Eleanor Olson

Instructor of English
Concurrent Enrollment Coordinator
Elizabeth Hall 238
801-626-6717
eolson2@weber.edu

William Pollett

Instructor of English

M.S., Utah State University
Theory and Practice
English

Elizabeth Hall 268
801-626-6964
wpollett@weber.edu

More information

Scott Rogers

Professor of English
Internship Coordinator

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
18th & 19th Cent. British Literature
Popular Culture Studies

Elizabeth Hall 448
801-626-7502
srogers@weber.edu

More information

Ryan Ridge

Assistant Professor of English
Co-Director of Creative Writing
Metaphor Advisor

M.F.A., University of California, Irvine
Creative Writing
Experimental Literature

Elizabeth Hall 442
801-626-6629
ryanridge@weber.edu

More information

Chris Scheidler

Visiting Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Louisville
Rhetoric and Composition

Elizabeth Hall 456  christopherscheidler@weber.edu

More information

John Schwiebert

Professor of English
Academic Advisor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
American Literature
British Literature

Elizabeth Hall 457
801-626-6289
jschwiebert@weber.edu

More information

Sally Shigley

Brady Professor of English

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Critical Theory
Creative Writing

Elizabeth Hall 428
801-626-7617
sshigley@weber.edu

More information

Abraham Smith

Associate Professor
Co-Director of Creative Writing

M.F.A., University of Alabama
Poetry

Elizabeth Hall 461
801-626-6217
abrahamsmith@weber.edu

More information

Laura Stott

Instructor of English

M.F.A., Eastern Washington University

Elizabeth Hall 246
801-626-7283
laurastott@weber.edu

More information

Mali Subbiah

Professor of English

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
World Literature
Cultural Studies

Elizabeth Hall 464
801-626-6335
msubbiah@weber.edu

More information

Shelley Thomas

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Professional and Technical Writing

Elizabeth Hall 451
801-626-6814
sthomas@weber.edu

More information

Megan Van Deventer

Assistant Professor
Assistant Concurrent Enrollment Liaison 

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
English Education
Children's Literature

Elizabeth Hall 235
801-626-8913
mmcdonaldvandeventer@weber.edu 

More information

Mikel Vause

Brady Professor of English
National Undergratuate Literature Conference Co-Director

Ph.D., Bowling Green University
British and American Literature
Romantic Literature

Elizabeth Hall 256
801-626-6659
mvause@weber.edu

More information

Sarah Vause

Instructor of English
National Undergratuate Literature Conference Co-Director

Ph.D., Idaho State University
English
Teaching of English

Elizabeth Hall 255
801-626-8077
sarahvause@weber.edu

More information

Michael Wutz

Brady Professor of English
Editor, Weber, The Contemporary West

Ph.D., Emory University
American Literature
Media Studies

Elizabeth Hall 455
801-626-7011
mwutz@weber.edu

More information

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Lana Bingham

Administrative Specialist III
Department of English 
Elizabeth Hall 435
801-626-8915
lanabingham@weber.edu

Robin Scott

Administrative Specialist I
Department of English 
Elizabeth Hall 413
801-626-6251
robinscott@weber.edu